Mercedes secure Canada front-row with Hamilton on pole

CG1fYB0WoAAEC1lMercedes will fill the front row of the grid for Sunday’s Formula 1 Grand Prix du Canada 2015 after Lewis Hamilton beat team mate Nico Rosberg to pole position by three-tenths of a second in Montreal, with Kimi Raikkonen third for Ferrari.

Valtteri Bottas was fourth fastest for Williams, followed by Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado in the much-improved Lotus. Nico Hulkenberg was seventh for Force India, with Red Bull’s Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo, and the second Force India of Sergio Perez completing the top ten.

In the second Ferrari, Sebastian Vettel was handicapped by MGU-H problems in Q1 and though the team got him back out in time for two flying laps at the end of the session, neither was good enough to see him progress and the former champion was the first man eliminated in the opening phase.

The other big name to fall at the first hurdle was Felipe Massa, who suffered a loss of power in his Williams. He was joined in the drop zone by the Marussias of Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens, and the non-starting McLaren of Jenson Button, who was ruled out by the need for an engine change following final practice. Button will race at the stewards’ discretion.

Q2 weeded out the Toro Rossos of Carlos Sainz and Max Verstappen, the latter of whom will start from the back of the field, thanks to two grid penalties – a five-place drop for his collision with Grosjean in Monaco, and a further 10 for using his fifth engine of the season. With the Dutch rookie unable to take the full 15-place drop, he also picks up a compensatory 10-second stop-go penalty for the race.

The others eliminated in the second phase were McLaren’s Fernando Alonso and the Saubers of Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr, the latter’s mechanics having done an excellent job of repairing his car after his heavy crash in final practice.

Canadian Grand Prix Qualifying Results
Pos. Car # Driver Q1 Q2 Q3 Gap
1 44 Lewis Hamiton 1:15.895 1:14.661 1:14.393 Leader
2 6 Nico Roseberg 1:15.893 1:14.673 1:14.702 -0.309
3 7 Kimi Raikkonen 1:16.259 1:15.348 1:15.014 -0.312
4 77 Valtteri Bottas 1:16.552 1:15.506 1:15.102 -0.088
5 8 Romain Grojean 1:15.833 1:15.187 1:15.194 -0.092
6 13 Pastor Maldonado 1:16.098 1:15.622 1:15.329 -0.135
7 27 Nico Hulkenberg 1:16.186 1:15.706 1:15.614 -0.285
8 26 Daniil Kvyat 1:16.415 1:15.891 1:16.079 -0.465
9 3 Daniel Ricciardo 1:16.410 1:16.006 1:16.114 -0.035
10 11 Sergio Perez 1:16.827 1:15.974 1:16.338 -0.224
11 55 Carlos Sainz Jr 1:16.042 1:16.042 Eliminated 0.296
12 33 Max Verstappen 1:16.245 1:16.245 Eliminated -0.203
13 9 Marcus Ericsson 1:16.262 1:16.262 Eliminated -0.017
14 14 Fernando Alonso 1:16.276 1:16.276 Eliminated -0.014
15 12 Felipe Nasr 1:16.620 1:16.620 Eliminated -0.344
16 5 Sebastian Vettel 1:17.344 Eliminated -0.724
17 19 Felipe Massa 1:17.886 Eliminated -0.542
18 98 Roberto Merhi 1:19.133 Eliminated -1.247
19 28 Will Stevens 1:19.157 Eliminated -0.024
20 22 Jenson Button 0:00.000 Eliminated 19.157

Notes: – Verstappen penalised 5 grid places for causing a collision at the previous round, and a further 10 places for using his fifth engine of the season.

 – Button failed to set a qualifying time within the Q1 107% requirement of 1:21.141, so races at the stewards’ discretion. Will serve a drive-through penalty in the race on Sunday.

– Vettel was given a five-place penalty for passing a Manor under red flag conditions.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s